Related Links

Faculty and Staff

The heart of Heathwood Hall is its teachers. These outstanding faculty are well educated, extremely motivated life-long learners who challenge their students to analyze carefully, reason clearly, and think critically. Heathwood teachers are classroom leaders who love the subjects they teach and who inspire others to love learning, too.


Staff

Early Childhood Faculty

Lower School Faculty

Intermediate/Middle School Faculty

Upper School Faculty


Head of School - Michael Heath - 231-7756

Assistant Head for Advancement - Anne Weston - 231-7737

Executive Assistant to the Head of School - Wendy Clark - 231-7741

Upper School Head - Chris Hinchey -231-7783

Asst. US Head and Academic Dean - George Scouten - 231-7782

US Administrative Assistant - Joy Bruner - 231-7787

Assistant Head for Finance and Operations - Liz Summers - 231-7736

Intermediate/Middle School Head - Donnie Bain -231-7745

Assistant Head of I/MS - Rich Edwards - 231-7770

I/MS Administrative Assistant - Bonnie Bruner - 231-7744

Lower School Head - Margaret Jones - 231-7749

Early Childhood Learning Center Head - Cheryl Gahagan - 231-7709

LS & ECP Administrative Assistant - Alicia Silldorff - 231-7748

Director of The Academic Achievement Center - Tripp Garick - 231-7762

Directors of Admission

Pence Scurry - Early Childhood and Lower School - 231-7719

Blair Mason - Intermediate/Middle and Upper Schools - 231-7718


Director of Athletics - Jeff Whalen - 231-7775

Assistant Athletic Director - Curtis Player - 231-7704

Trainer - JuLayne Shiflett - 231-7702

Administrative Assistant - Sarah Roth - 231-7704

Director of Community Relations - Willis Ware - 231-7743

Director of Annual Fund - Erin Pope - 231-7734

Director of Heathwood Plus - Valerie Moore - 231-7710

Director of Outdoor Education (PEAK) - Stan Wood - 231-7723

Associate Director - Kristy Gutierrez - 231-7724

Director of Technology - Bill Cherry - 231-7712

Accounts Payable - Kelli Gowder - 231-7716

Student Billing - Heidi Beckwith - 231-7713

Chaplain - Raven Tarpley - 231-7705

Get Connected Program - Terri Sobel - 231-7777

Human Resources Officer - Shannon Payne - 231-7739

Plant Manager - Walt Spiegel - 231-7726

School Resource Officer - Sgt. Verlon Rhodes - 231-7733

School Nurse - Ross Beale - 231-7728

Plaid Peddler/Bookstore - Antara Brandner - 231-7740

Receptionist - Julie Horton - 765-2309


 

Faculty


Early Childhood Faculty


Grade

Brookshire, Melissa
brookshirem@heathwood.org
Kindergarten Associate
Dargan, Mandi
B.A.I.S., University of South Carolina
darganm@heathwood.org
Preschool
Fewell, Julie
B.A., Columbia College
M.Ed., University of South Carolina
fewellj@heathwood.org

Preschool Associate
Gahagan, Cheryl
B.A., University of Richmond
MAT, Columbia International University
gahaganc@heathwood.org
Head of the Early Childhood Learning Center
Hall, Sandra
B.S. & M.A., University of South Carolina
halls@heathwood.org
Kindergarten
Hane, Leyden H.
B.A., Hollins College
M.Ed., Columbia College
hanel@heathwood.org

Nursery School

Hardy, Mary Stuart
B.A, Salem College
MHA The Medical University of South Carolina
hardym@heathwood.org

Kindergarten Associate
Hudson, Julie
B.A., College of Charleston
hudsonj@heathwood.org

Kindergarten Associate
Roddey, Molly
B.A., University of South Carolina
roddeym@heathwood.org
Preschool
Schafer, Anna
B.S., University of Georgia
M.Ed., Cambridge College
schafera@heathwood.org
Kindergarten
Schepker, Kristen
B.S., Kansas State University
M.S., Pittsburg State University
schepkerk@heathwood.org
Kindergarten
Shainwald, Frances
B.A., Columbia College
shainwaldf@heathwood.org
Nursery Schoo l Associatel
Smith, Christal
B.A. & M.Ed. University of South Carolina
smithc@heathwood.org
Nursery Schoo
Smith, Madelyn
B.A., Elon University
smithm@heathwood.org
Preschool Associate
 


Lower School Faculty

 


Subject/Grade

Ashenfelter, Natalie
B.S.& M.S., University of Montevallo
ashenfeltern@heathwood.org

Science

Blackstone, Daphne
blackstoned@heathwood.org
Fourth Grade Associate
Bryan, Barbara M. 
B.A., University of South Carolina
bryanb@heathwood.org

Music, LS

Bunch, Katie
B.A., University of South Carolina
bunchk@heathwood.org

Third Grade Associate
Burton, Colette
B.A., High Point University
burtonc@heathwood.org

Transitional Classroon
Cherry, Martha Lee M.
B.A., Converse College
M.Ed., Columbia College 
cherrym@heathwood.org

Fourth Grade

Cooper, Kelley S.
B.A., Winthrop University
M.Ed., Lesley University
cooperk@heathwood.org

Art

Cox, Rebecca
B.A., University of Delaware
coxr@heathwood.org
Second Grade Associate
Diaz-Grant, Rosa
B.A., Univsersidad Catalica
M.A., Ball State University
diazr@heathwood.org

Spanish
Elliott-Smith, Danielle
B.A., Clemson University
M.A.T., University of South Carolina
M.Ed., University of South Carolina
elliottd@heathwood.org
Third Grade
Falvey, Jennifer
B.A., Mount Holyoke College
falveyj@heathwood.org

Librarian

Heard, Catherine C
B.A.& M.Ed, University of South Carolina
heardc@heathwood.org

Fourth Grade Associate
Holder, Jenny
B.A. Auburn University
Ed.S.,University of South Carolina
cathcartj@heathwood.org
Guidance and Counseling

Hray, Jane
B.a. & M.A., Furman University
hrayj@heathwood.org

First Grade
Humphrey, N. Lynn
B.A. & I.M.A., University of South Carolina
humphreyl@heathwood.org

Physical Education

Hedgecock, Karen
B.A., University of South Carolina
M.Ed., University of South Carolina
hedgecockk@heathwood.org
First Grade Associate
Eanes-Johnson, Michelle
B.S., Virginia Tech
M.Ed., University of Virginia
johnsonm@heathwood.org
Second Grade
Kapur, Mala
B.A., Delhi University
kapurm@heathwood.org
First Grade Associate
Matthews, Deitra
B.A., Coker College
M.P.A., Savannah State University
matthewsd@heathwood.org


Third Grade Associate
McElveen, Kellie
B.A., Columbia College
mcelveenk@heathwood.org
Second Grade
Pulford, Margaret O.
B.S., College of Misericordia
pulfordm@heathwood.org

Fourth Grade

Reynolds, Kelly
M.Ed., Fordham University
reynoldsk@heathwood.org
First Grade Associate
Ross, Catherine
B.A.,University of South Carolina
rossc@heathwood.org
Second Grade
Shirley, Rick
B.S., University of South Carolina
shirleyr@heathwood.org
Fourth Grade
Snow, Elizabeth
B.A., University of the South
M.Ed., South Carolina State University
snowe@heathwood.org
Transitional Classroon
Sumner, Whitney
B.A., University of South Carolina
canteyw@heathwood.org

Second Grade Associate
Willamson, Tara
B.A., South Carolina State University
willamsont@heathwood.org
Fourth Grade Associate
Whiteman, Brooke
B.A., Edinboro University of PA
whitemanb@heathwood.org
Third Grade

Intermediate/Middle School Faculty

 


Subject

Bain, Donnie
B.A., Davidson College
M.Ed., Georgia State University
baind@heathwood.org
Head I/M School
Mathematics
Bauer, Rob
B.A. & M.A., California State
bauerr@heathwood.org
Mathematics
Beasley, Todd
B.A.& M.A., University of South Carolina 
beasleyt@heathwood.org
Science
Bulak, Pamela B.
B.A., Elizabethtown College
M.A., College of Charleston
bulakp@heathwood.org

Science

Capone, Heather
B.S., Penn State University
M.Ed., University of Scranton
caponeh@heathwood.org
Math
Clauss, Jackie
B.A., Universidad Distrita Francisio Jose de Caldas
M.A., Cinde Universidad Padagogica Nacional
claussj@heathwood.org
Spanish
Corley, Janis
B.S., University of South Carolina
corleyj@heathwood.org
Music
Dennis, Patty
B.A., Limestone College
M.Ed., Francis Marion University
dennisp@heathwood.org
Academic Achievement Center
Duhan, John
B.M., University of South Carolina
duhanj@heathwood.org

Band
Edwards, Rich
B.A., The University of the South
M.Ed., Leslie University
edwardsr@heathwood.org
History
Ellington, Robert
B.A.,  University of Kentucky
M.Ed., Charleston Southern University
ellingtonr@heathwood.org
Science
Fitzgerald, Patrick
B.A., St. Andrews Presbyterian College
fitzgeraldp@heathwood.org
History
Glick, Gretchen
B.A., Connecticut College
glickg@heathwood.org
Mathematics
Giovannone, Jason
B.S., University of South Carolina
giovannonej@heathwood.org
Science
Gutierrez, Kristy
B.S., Wake Forest University
gutierrezk@heathwood.org
PEAK
Associate Director
Hodges, Emily
B.A. & M.A., University of South Carolina
hodgese@heathwood.org
English
Horak,Jr., Robert A.
B.M., University of Akron
M.Ed., Ed.S. & Ph.D., University of South Carolina
horakr@heathwood.org
Guidance and Counseling

Johnson, Liza
B.S. & M.A.T., University of South Carolina
johnsonl@heathwood.org
Mathematics
Kingery, Michele
B.S., University of Florida
kingerym@heathwood.org
English
Creative Writing
McDuffie, Chris
B.A., Citadel
M.Ed., Citadel
M.A.T., Virginia Commenwealth University
mcduffiec@heathwood.org
History
Nagy, Suzanne
B.A., Furman University
M.Ed., University of South Carolina
CNSL, University of Arkansas
nagys@heathwood.org
English
O'Cain, John
B.S., Francis Marion University
ocainj@heathwood.org

Physical Education

Player, Curtis
B.A., Hampden Sydney
playerc@heathwood.org
Physical Education
Pope, Pamela R.
B.A., Mount Holyoke College
M.Ed., University of Pennsylvania
popep@heathwood.org

Latin

Roman, Helen
B.A. Clemson University
romanh@heathwood.org
English
Scurry, Clare
B.F.A., University of South Carolina
scurryc@heathwood.org
Art
Shiflett, JuLayne
B.S., University of South Carolina
shiflettj@heathwood.org
Athletic Trainer
Physical Education
Swick, Sue
B.M., Mt. St. Joseph
M.A., University of South Carolina
swicks@heathwood.org
English

Upper School Faculty


Subject
Adams, John
B.A.&M.A., Furman University
adamsj@heathwood.org
History
Blackstone, Adger L. 
B.S.& J.D., University of South Carolina
blackstoner@heathwood.org
Dean of Students
Mathematics
Bunch, Gwendolyn A. 
B.A., Columbia College
bunchg@heathwood.org
Mathematics
Byrd, Loretta
B.A., Clemson University
byrdl@heathwood.org
Spanish
Cherry, Bill
B.S., Peabody College/Vanderbilt University
M.Ed., Tennessee State University 
cherryb@heathwood.org   
Director of Technology
Graphic Arts
Video Editing
Cooper, Lynn
B.A., - College of Charleston
M.A.T., University of South Carolina
cooperl@heathwood.org
English
Dawson, Gigi
B.A., Converse College
M.Ed., University of South Carolina
dawsong@heathwood.org
History
Engle, E.G.
B.A., University of South Carolina
englee@heathwood.org
Drama
Evans, Susan
B.A., Brown University
M.S., University of Pennsylvania
M.T.S., Emory University
evanss@heathwood.org
College Counseling
Gonzalez, Luisa M.
B.A.& M.A., Wichita State University
gonzalezl@heathwood.org
Spanish
Winterim Coordinator
Hagstette, Elise
B.A., University of Georgia
M.A., College of Charleston/The Citadel
hagstettee@heathwood.org
English
Hinchey, Chris
B.S., Trinity College
M.A.L.S., Wesleyan College
M.S. Ed from University of Pennsylvania
hinchey@heathwood.org

Upper School Head
Cousins-Hylton, Treece
B.A., University of the West Indies
M.A., The Citadel
hyltont@heathwood.org
Mathematics
Keller, Nadege
M.A., University of South Carolina
kellern@heathwood.org
French
McKnight, Timothy
B.S., Purdue University
M.A.T., University of South Carolina
mcknightt@heathwood.org
Physics
Astronomy
Morris, James H. 
B.A.& M.S., West Virginia University
morrisj@heathwood.org
Biology
Physics
Myer, Michael
B.A., University of Texas-Arlington
M.A., Duke University
myerm@heathwood.org
Latin
Norman, Lisa
B.S., Augusta College
M.S., Medical University of South Carolina
normanl@heathwood.org
Biology
Anatomy & Physiology
Novak, Ryan
B.A., University of Georgia
M.Ed., Pacific Lutheran University
novakr@heathwood.org

Academic Technology Specialist
Peek, Scotty
B.F.A., Austin Peay State University
M.F.A., University of South Carolina
peeks@heathwood.org

Art
Plowden, Sally C.
B.A.& M.A., Columbia College
PhD, University of South Carolina
plowdens@heathwood.org
English
Pulford, John D.
M.A., Johns Hopkins University
M.A.T., Northwestern University
pulfordj@heathwood.org
History
Quinn, Tim
B.A., University of California, Irvine
M.A., Azusa Pacific University
quinnt@heathwood.org
Math
Reeder, Nancy P.
B.A., Columbia College
M.L.S., University of South Carolina
reedern@heathwood.org
Librarian, IS/MS/US
Robinson, James H. 
B.A., Southern Methodist University
M.Ed., University of Texas
robinsonj@heathwood.org
College Counseling
Scouten, George
B.A., Salisbury State University
M.A., Bowling Green State University
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
scouteng@heathwood.org
Asst. US Head and Academic Dean
Simpson, Thomas
B.A.& M.A.T., University of South Carolina
simpsont@heathwood.org
Computer Science
Slocum, Laura
A.S., Indiana University, Indianapolis
B.A., Western Connecticut State University, Danbury
M.S., Ball State University
slocuml@heathwood.org
Chemistry
Tarpley, Raven
B.A., University of North Carolina
tarpleyr@heathwood.org
Lay Chaplain
Bible
Whalen, Jeffrey D.
B.S., State U. of New York at Cortland
whalenj@heathwood.org
Athletic Director
Physical Education
Wood, Stan K.
B.S., University of South Carolina
woods@heathwood.org

Director of Outdoor Education
Environmental Science