Skip to main content

Search form

     

Heathwood Hall

Meet the Teachers

Early Childhood Teachers

 

Mattie Amsler | mamsler@heathwood.org

Mattie is a sophomore at University of South Carolina studying Early Childhood Education. Mattie grew up in Allentown, Pennsylvania and recently spent her summers there as a nanny and caregiver. Mattie is excited for the opportunity to work with young children and bring her passion for young children to our early childhood classrooms!

 

Hanna Boston | hboston@heathwood.org

Hanna is a senior at Columbia International University studying Intercultural Studies. She is TEFL certified and has taught English in Lebanon and Cambodia through the English Language Institute of China. In addition to her experience abroad, Hanna volunteers each Sunday with adult refugees at Kilbourne Park Baptist Church. Hanna loves being with our Early Childhood students and being part of the Afternoon Express team!

 

Kelsey Foster | kfoster@heathwood.org

Kelsey is a senior Early Childhood Education major at the University of South Carolina. She is from Lake Wylie, SC where she has a big family who she loves spending time with. She has been a member of the Carolina Girls Dance Team for the past three years and loves cheering on the Gamecocks for football and basketball games. She has been a childcare provider during all of her years in college and has been babysitting for 7+ years. She is so excited to continue working with the EC 3’s and 4’s this year.

 

Tori Grant | tgrant@heathwood.org

Tori is originally from Hartsville, SC. She has her B.S. in Exercise Science from the University of South Carolina and is currently getting her M.S. in Occupational Therapy at Lenoir-Rhyne University. Tori loves working with kids and is excited to join the Afternoon Express Team!

 

Bethany Hill | bhill@heathwood.org

Bethany is from Columbia, SC and is studying Public Relations at the University of South Carolina. In her spare time, she enjoys being with her family, traveling, and reading. Bethany has been an Afternoon Express teacher for almost two years and is happy to be returning this year!

 

Tori Mengelkamp | tmengelkamp@heathwood.org

Tori is from Indian Trail, NC and is studying Visual Communications at the University of South Carolina. She has worked in the Afternoon Express Program for two years and loves it. A fun fact about Tori is that she placed 1st in her city for Judo-Taekwondo in elementary school. She is excited to be coming back as an AE Teacher this year.

 

Elizabeth Roddey | eroddey@heathwood.org

Elizabeth is a Columbia, SC native and has been working as an Afternoon Express Teacher for two years. She is currently at Midlands Technical College studying Early Childhood Education. Elizabeth loves working with her students and coworkers and is excited about the upcoming year!

 

Rachel Shelley | rshelley@heathwood.org

Rachel is from Columbia, SC and is a graduate from Heathwood Hall. She is currently studying Economics and Risk Management at the University of South Carolina. A few fun facts about Rachel are that she dislikes the color orange, has won HQ three times, and is a member of Gamma Phi Beta. This will be her second year as a Afternoon Express Teacher.  

 

Riana Shelley | rshelley2@heathwood.org

Riana joined the Heathwood Plus team this summer as a Highlander Day Camp counselor. She now enjoys teaching in Afternoon Express a few days a week. Riana lives and breathes the Highlander spirit: her father is the President of the Heathwood Highlander Club and she is a current student in the Upper School. “I think Heathwood’s philosophy about life and learning is exactly how everyone should see children and their education.”

 

Lower School Teachers

 

John Brumbaugh | jbrumbaugh@heathwood.org

John is starting his third year of being an Afternoon Express Teacher, as well as being a substitute teacher at Heathwood Hall. He grew up in Blythewood, South Carolina, and is a graduate from the University South Carolina with a degree in Middle Level Education with a concentration in English and Social Studies. In his spare time, he enjoys watching soccer, especially during World Cup Season, traveling, and spending quality time with his ferret, Gomez.

 

Andrew Griggs | agriggs@heathwood.org

Andrew has been working as an Afternoon Express Teacher for a year and a half. He has a degree in Physical Education from the University of South Carolina and is currently in the Graduate School for Counseling. In Andrew’s spare time, he enjoys golfing, going to the lake, and attending Carolina football games. He aspires to be a high school counselor and basketball coach.

 

Rachel Hinchey | rhinchey@haethwood.org

Rahcel is currently studying Psychology and Neuroscience at the University of South Carolina. She is from Boston, Massachusetts and would love to be a Pediatric Clinical Psychologist. Rachel loves being with her dog Sasha, enjoys working with kids, and is excited to be an Afternoon Express Teacher!

 

John Layfield jlayfield@heathwood.org

John is a junior at the University of South Carolina. John was recruited by his fellow Gamecocks to join the Summer Camp staff as a counselor for Highlander Day Camp. The more John learned about the campus and its people and his affinity for working with young people, the more he realized this was more than a summer job. When not on campus or at Heathwood, John enjoys family trips to the beach and spending time on the golf course.

 

Kayla McClary | kmcclary@heathwood.org

Kayla is currently a sophomore at the University of South Carolina, studying Elementary Education. She is originally from Lexington, SC and enjoys playing frisbee, going to USC football games and eating pizza. Kayla is excited about coming back as an Afternoon Express Teacher this year!

 

Virginia Rashley | vrashley@heathwood.org

Virginia is a senior at A.C. Flora High School and is hoping to study Early Childhood Education in college. She has been a camp counselor at Gravatt Camp and Conference Center since 2016 and has also worked at St. Martin’s in the Fields Episcopal Church Nursery. She is part of the National Honors Society and National Arts Honor Society. Virginia is very excited to join the Heathwood Team as an Afternoon Express Teacher!

 

Dillon Ulmer | dulmner@heathwood.org

Dillon is a freshman at the University of South Carolina. He comes to us from the Calhoun Academy in St. Matthew’s, SC where he was the recipient of the senior class citizenship award. Dillon is an Eagle Scout and discovered his passion for working with kids while volunteering with the local cub scouts. Dillon is a big brother to two younger siblings.

 

Marli Mengelkamp | mmengelkamp@heathwood.org

Marli is originally from Indian Trail, NC and is a junior at the University of South Carolina. She is studying Public Health and hopes to be a dermatologist one day. In her spare time she loves to read and is a member of Alpha Delta Pi. She has been working with the 2nd graders at Heathwood for a year and is excited to be coming back to Afternoon Express!

 

Middle School Teachers

 

Maddie Corso | mcorso@heathwood.org

Maddie is a junior at the University of South Carolina where she is studying Middle Level Education. Maddie is from New Milford, Connecticut where she has worked as a substitute teacher and has spent countless hours tutoring middle school students. Maddie is an active member of the Pi Beta Phi sorority and enjoys sports, volunteering, and cheering on the Gamecocks!

 

Elizabeth Nye | enye@heathwood.org

Elizabeth is currently a sophomore at the University of South Carolina, studying Economics. She is an active member of Pi Beta Phi through which she has helped with book drives and volunteers weekly at Champions are Readers in local elementary school. Elizabeth is eager to join the AE teaching team because she has a passion for tutoring and helping middle school students navigate the academic and social challenges of this chapter in life.
 

Heathwood Plus Leadership

 

Jessie Garlinghouse, Director of Extended Learning | jgarlinghouse@heathwood.org

Jessie has served as a teacher for the last eight years in Washington, DC, working in both private and public schools. Most recently, she spent five years as a first grade teacher and the language arts department chair at Georgetown Day School, a nationally-noted independent school in the heart of the District. Jessie has dedicated her summers to training new teachers for The New Teacher Project in DC Public and Charter Schools. During her tenure in D.C., Jessie presented at multiple national conferences on topics of anti-bias education and family engagement. She is eager to bring her passion for curriculum development and student-centered programming to Heathwood’s auxiliary initiatives.

 

Jessie grew up in Kansas where she earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology at Kansas State University. After working as an assistant toddler and preschool teacher, she went on to earn a Master of Arts in Teaching degree from the University of Southern California. Most recently, she completed a Certificate in Advanced Education Leadership from Harvard’s Graduate School of Education. Jessie and her husband, Graham, are avid college sports fans and mildly-successful parents to a cactus plant.

 

Allison Rashley, Director of Summer Programs & Asst. Director of Extended Learning | arashley@heathwood.org

Allison has a wealth of experience in supporting and leading schools in the Columbia area. Most recently, she served as Assistant Director at Eastminster Day School where she led the afterschool program and coordinated enrichment activities. Allison's enthusiasm for developing engaging programs and fostering relationships with families will be a valuable asset to our team!

 

Allison has spent most her life in Columbia, where she has been raising her four children: Andrew (26), Virginia (17), Meredith (14), and Adrian (13). Allison and her husband, Neil, are actively involved with St. Martin’s in the Fields Episcopal Church. Additionally, Allison enjoys participating in the Kanuga Board of Visitors and the Coralbell Garden Club.