Honors Science Students Earn 18 Awards at SC Junior Academy of Science Conference

Thursday, April 4, 2019

Heathwood students won 18 awards for their original scientific research at the 2019 meeting of the South Carolina Junior Academy of Science (SCJAS) on March 30.

The Heathwood students attending the SCJAS conference are all participants in the Upper School's Honors Science Research program, through which they design, implement, and analyze results from an independent experimental research project. Forty-eight students were enrolled in the Honors Science program this year, and 42 made the Saturday trip to Francis Marion University to present their work in front of judges, other high school science students, and faculty. Collectively, those students took home five 1st place, three 2nd place and two 3rd place awards for written papers as well as two 1st place, four 2nd place, one 3rd place and one 4th place award for oral presentations.

Charlotte Hughes earned a double first for her paper and her presentation on "Reduced-graphene oxide semi-permanent hair dye: durability and toxicity".  Charlotte as well as Nico Adamo also each separately earned a top award in the recent Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF). Other students earning awards for both their written papers as well as their Oral Presentations were Serena Parmar in Botany, Andrew Sobel in Mathematics, and Hanna Coetsee in Consumer Sciences.

Other Heathwood students earning awards at SCJAS included Brooklyn Moore, Logan Trull, Pamela Ann Pope, Catherine Barron, Savannah Smith, Nadine Hanna, Morgan Iseman, and the teams of Walker Draffin & Henry Haywood and Michael Moran, Alexander Roberts, & Ryan Shelley.