Thirteen Juniors and Seniors Inducted into Cum Laude Society

Friday, April 20, 2018

Eight members of the Heathwood Class of 2018 and five members of the Class of 2019 were inducted into the prestigious Cum Laude Society on April 18.

The new inductees are seniors Lydia Comer, Lawson Leidinger, Isabelle Lord, Emmye Mullins, Paris Tomlin, Ray Wang, Jim Xue, Coco Yuan; and juniors Davis Buchanan, Julia Lauterbach, Ben Mathews, Kathleen Powers, and Kate Willhide. They join seven members of the Class of 2018 who were inducted last year: Marie Charlotte Demetriades, Ruth Dibble, Jaelen King, Athreya Murali, Kate Nassab, Amelia Robinson-Brown, and Emma Shealy.

Modeled after the collegiate Phi Beta Kappa honor society, the Cum Laude Society is highly selective and honors outstanding scholastic achievement while simultaneously striving to encourage qualities of excellence, justice, and honor.

Earning the right to have a Cum Laude Society chapter is a sign of a school’s commitment to academic excellence. Only 382 schools worldwide have been selected to host Cum Laude chapters. We’re proud of this year’s inductees and all the students and faculty whose high standards and hard work have made Heathwood worthy of this honor.